"The Usual Suspects"
Slipcase Edition


Cat. #: FR CD 230 Cod:8024391023020
Label: Frontiers Records Release date: February the 21st 2005

Music Style: Melodic Hard Rock

Tracklisting: Power Of Love; Devil's Door; Jacknife; Really Loved; Rest Of My Life; Into The Fire; Blood Money; All Alone; Ball And Chain; Live And Love Again; Unfinished Bizness (European bonus track)

In a career that spans nearly 30 years and includes over 50 album credits, Joe Lynn Turner ("JLT") remains one of rock and roll's most distinctive, soulful and expressive vocalists. Born August 2, 1951 in Hackensack, New Jersey (U.S.A.), he grew up with an appreciation for R&B and became an accomplished guitarist in his early teens. While in high school, Joe formed Ezra, performing original material and cover songs by his great influences: Jimi Hendrix, Free and Deep Purple.

In 1976, JLT enjoyed his first taste of national success with Fandango with whom he recorded 4 albums and toured with such artists as The Allman Brothers, The Beach Boys and Billy Joel.

After Fandango split, JLT received a call from legendary guitarist Ritchie Blackmore. He was so impressed after his audition that he immediately enlisted Joe in Rainbow, the band that he formed after he left Deep Purple. Thanks also to Turner's contributions the group was catapulted to a new level of success especially in the USA. Turner co-wrote and/or sang on Rainbow singles that helped define the melodic rock genre: "I Surrender", "Can't Happen Here", "Jealous Lover", "Stone Cold", "Street of Dreams" and "Can't Let You Go".

In 1984, Blackmore reunited with Deep Purple. This gave Turner freedom to work on his first solo album, "Rescue You," produced by Roy Thomas Baker (Queen). Turner also proved his versatility by working with a diverse array of artists, including Billy Joel, Cher, Michael Bolton, Mick Jones (Foreigner), John Waite (Bad English).

In 1987, JLT became a member of Yngwie Malsteen's Rising Force. Their union resulted in "Odyssey," the most commercially successful album for Malmsteen ever. A follow-up world tour was highlighted by ten "sold out" shows in Russia that were recorded for the "Trial By Fire: Live in Leningrad" album and video.

In the winter of 1989, Ritchie Blackmore and Deep Purple needed to find a lead singer to replace Ian Gillan. Turner was invited to audition and soon found himself fronting one of the major bands he was influenced by as a teenager! They released the album: "Slaves and Masters" and launched an extensive world tour.

Joe, during the 90’s took on many projects after leaving Purple. He joined Carmine Appice (Ozzy Osbourne), Bob Daisley (Ozzy Osbourne) and Jeff Watson (Night Ranger) in the progressive rock band Mother's Army. He toured the U.S.A. with his own "JLT All Star Band." He eventually returned to the studio for his second solo effort, "Nothing's Changed". With the release of his third solo venture, "Hurry Up And Wait," the worldwide demand for his material increased dramatically. His next three solo albums - Holy Man", "Slam!" and "JLT" - subsequently enjoyed critical and commercial success.

Turner continues to record and collaborate on a massive number of other artist's CDs and tribute albums. He is one of the key members of Brazen Abbot, a project spearheaded by Bulgarian guitarist/composer Nikolo Kotzev. He also has recorded and performed with the Voices of Classic Rock (VCR), Rock and Pop Masters (RPM) and New York's Hit Squad. Most notable is JLT's recent collaboration with former Deep Purple bassist/vocalist, Glenn Hughes: the Hughes Turner Project (HTP). HTP released two studio CDs and one live disc. Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers), John Sykes (Whitesnake/Thin Lizzy), Steve Vai (Frank Zappa/Whitesnake) and other artists made guest appearances during the recording sessions.

Turner's latest solo CD, "The Usual Suspects", is his 9th solo album to date. It features several well-known musicians who were part of the JLT All Star Band at one point and also favorite collaboration partners of Joe's (hence the album title "The Usual Suspects"). The players on the new disc include: Al Pitrelli (Megadeth, Savatage, Trans Siberian Orchestra) and Karl Cochran (Ace Frehley) on guitar, David Z on bass, John O'Reilly (Rainbow) on drums, Paul Morris (Rainbow), Andy Burton on keyboards and Nancy Bender on background vocals. Joe describes "The Usual Suspects" as a return to the melodic rock that is more reminiscent of his Rainbow days. He says: "For the first time ever, I recorded the vocals in the comfort of my home. Gary Tole (Bon Jovi) engineered it. It's a return to something that was part of me, part of my past. It has big choruses but also rocks hard in a lot of places. I am very proud of this album".

For news, discography, audio samples and more, please visit: www.joelynnturner.com

Last Update: Sunday, 02. January 2005
created in September 2002 © by